Corner Brook City Council

Corner Brook City Council is the legislative body that represents the citizens of Corner Brook.  City Council is composed of one Mayor, and six Councillors who hold office for a four-year term.

The responsibility of carrying out City Council’s policies rests with the Executive Team, led by the City Manager.

Current City Council

Front: (L-R) Mayor Jim Parsons, Deputy Mayor Bill Griffin

Back: (L-R) Councillor Vaughn Granter,  Councillor Bernd Staeben, Councillor Tony Buckle, Councillor Josh Carey, Councillor Linda Chaisson

Council Information

Contact information for Elected City Officials  Click Here

Meetings, Agendas and Minutes Click Here

2020-2021 City Council Committees

*In accordance with the Terms of the Reference the Mayor is a member of all Council Committees. All committees are appointed for one year and are designated annually.

Topic Leads

  • Development and Planning: Councillor L. Chaisson
  • Public Safety: Councillor J. Carey
  • Public Works: Councillor V. Granter
  • Recreation and Tourism: Councillor T. Buckle
  • Capital Projects: Deputy Mayor B. Griffin

Standing Committees

  • Finance and Administration: Councillor B. Staeben

Advisory Committees

  • Accessibility and Inclusiveness Community: Councillor L. Chaisson and Councillor V. Granter
  • Community Partners: Mayor J. Parsons
  • Youth Advisory Committee: Councillor L. Chaisson

Special Committees

  • Regional Aquatic Centre Governance Committee: Councillor B. Staeben

Outside Appointments

  • Western Regional Waste Management: Councillor B. Staeben and Councillor J. Carey
  • Rotary Arts: Councillor V. Granter
  • Great Humber Joint Council: Councillor J. Carey and Councillor T. Buckle
  • Corner Brook Port Corporation: Mayor Parsons
  • Deer Lake Airport Authority: Deputy Mayor B. Griffin


Election Information  Click Here

Council Remuneration  Click Here

Council Meetings


Council Travel Reports